Women’s Division II Releases Third Ranking of 2023-24 Season

Women’s Division II Releases Third Ranking of 2023-24 Season

#1 spots in each region hold steady since last ranking, with shakeups in spots #2-#4 across most regions


TROY, Mich. – Dec. 8, 2023 – The American Collegiate Hockey Association’s Women’s Division II (W2) today announced the third rankings of the 2023-2024 season. The results are based on games played and reported through the second ranking period that ended on Sunday, Jan. 21, 2024, between the division’s 68 member teams.





  1. Northeastern University
  2. Providence College
  3. Boston College
  4. Assumption University
  5. University of Vermont
  6. Boston University
  7. Saint Anselm College
  8. Sacred Heart University
  9. University of New Hampshire
  10. Harvard University
  11. University of Connecticut
  12. Merrimack College
  13. ^College of the Holy Cross
  14. Bentley University


Teams not yet ranked due to having only three or fewer games reported: ^Worcester Polytechnic Institute, University of New England, Roger Williams University



  1. Villanova University
  2. United States Naval Academy
  3. University of Delaware
  4. Liberty University
  5. The Ohio State University
  6. Niagara University
  7. University of Pennsylvania
  8. University of Maryland
  9. Mercyhurst University
  10. University of Virginia
  11. Brockport State University
  12. Rowan University
  13. University of Pittsburgh
  14. West Virginia University
  15. ^Virginia Tech
  16. University at Buffalo
  17. *SUNY Cortland
  18. Robert Morris University
  19. ^Georgetown University
  20. Montclair State University
  21. Oswego State University
  22. West Chester University
  23. Rochester Institute of Technology
  24. ^George Washington University
  25. Loyola University Maryland


Teams not yet ranked due to having only three or fewer games reported: *Slippery Rock University



  1. Sault College
  2. Central Michigan University
  3. Lawrence Technological University
  4. Adrian College
  5. Northern Michigan University
  6. ^Aurora University
  7. Michigan State University
  8. Miami University
  9. Bowling Green State University
  10. ^University of Notre Dame
  11. ^Loyola University Chicago



  1. Assiniboine Community College
  2. Dakota College at Bottineau
  3. University of Saint Thomas
  4. University of Wisconsin-Madison
  5. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
  6. North Dakota State University
  7. Maryville University
  8. Lake Region State College
  9. Iowa State University
  10. University of Minnesota-Duluth
  11. *United States Air Force Academy
  12. ^University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  13. ^University of Wisconsin-Stout
  14. ^University of Nebraska


Details About the Rankings & Invitations to Nationals


The Women’s D2 tournament at the 2024 ACHA National Championships presented by FloHockey will begin Tuesday, March 12, 2024 at the Maryville University Hockey Center (MUHC) in Chesterfield, Missouri. The championship game will be played on Saturday, March 16, 2024, at the Centene Community Ice Center (CCIC), the practice facility for the NHL St. Louis Blues.


Invitations to Nationals will ultimately be extended to the top-ranking W2 teams in each region based on the final ranking of the season. The final date that games will count towards W2 rankings is Sunday, Feb. 25, 2024. The ACHA will extend invitations to the following number of W2 teams per region:


  • Northeast region: 4 invitations
  • Southeast region: 5 invitations
  • West region: 3 invitations
  • Central region: 4 invitations


The following four conferences with at least six W2 ACHA member teams will be offered an automatic bid for their top team to the 2024 W2 National Championships: Central Collegiate Women’s Hockey Association (CCWHA), College Hockey East (CHE), Women’s Delaware Valley College Hockey Conference (DVCHC) and the Independent Women’s Club Ice Hockey League (IWCHL).


*The following teams are not eligible for the 2024 National Championships: Slippery Rock University, SUNY Cortland, Lake Region State College, United States Air Force.


^The following teams have declared they will not attend the 2024 National Championships: College of the Holy Cross, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, George Washington University, Georgetown University, Virginia Tech, University of Nebraska, University of Wisconsin Stout, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, Aurora University, Loyola University Chicago, University of Notre Dame.


The fourth W2 ranking period will end on Feb. 4, 2024. Follow the W2 schedule here. For more information about W2 policies and procedures, please review the ACHA Manual.