Men’s Division 2 Announces National Coach of the Year

Troy, MI (4/1/24):  The Men's Division 2 of the American Collegiate Hockey Association is proud to announce this year's National Coach of the Year, David Weaver from Montana State.

Mr. Weaver led the Bobcats to a 34-3-0 record this year, and the #1 seed in the West Region.  This ranking was high enough to secure Montana State an auto bid to the National Championship for the second year in a row and first time the program history, the top seed in the Region.   Montana State was one of the most dominant teams in all of Division 2, going 27-2 vs. teams ranked in the Top 20 in a region.

Weaver had three players make the All-West Region Teams, Jorgen Johnson, Rhys Phelps, and Hayden Klem, all 1st team honors at their positions.  Two of these players were then recently selected to the Men's Division 2 National All-Athletic Team, with Johnson being selected to the First Team, and Klem to the Second Team.

For Weaver, this is his second consecutive National Coach of the Year, also winning the award for the 22/23 season. David, along with Bobby Rodrigue of Keene State, Kevin Brooks from University of Iowa, and Connor Fox of Rider University were the finalists for the Coach of the Year by virtue of their selection as a Regional Coach of the Year.

Coach Weaver, along with the other Divisional Coaches of the Year, will be recognized at a banquet at the ACHA Annual Weekend, in Nashville, on May 10th.