M2 West Region COY and POY Announced

Troy, Mich. (February 23,2023):  The American Collegiate Hockey Association is proud to announce the 2022/2023 Men's Division 2 West Region Coach and Player of the Year.  The National Player and Coach of the Year will be selected from the four Regional winners.  The schedule of awards can be found on the M2 Awards page.



2023 West Region Player of the Year: Johnny Witzke, University of Mary

This year's award goes to University of Mary Senior Defenseman, Johnny Witzke.  The Bismark, ND. native helped the Marauders to a 34-6-2 record and the #1 seed in the West Region.  Witzke, averaged 1.15 points a game, finishing the year with 45 points (17 G, 28 A).  For the Mary captain, this is the fourth selection of the West Region 1st team, making it in 19/20, 20/21, 21/22, and now 22/23.

Johnny continues the streak of University of Mary players being selected as the West Region POY, joining Kyle Hayden, the 21/22 winner and Zach Garrett, who won the award in 20/21.



2023 West Region Coach of the Year: Dave Weaver, Montana State University

This year's award goes to the Head Coach of Montana State University, Dave Weaver.  Mr. Weaver led the Bobcats to a 26-7-0 record and end the regular season ranked #2 in the West Region.  That ranking, the highest in program history, also secured the first National Auto Bid for the team and their third appearance in the ACHA National Championship (18/19 & 21/22).

This is the second Coach of the Year award for Weaver.  He previously was selected after the 18/19 season.